Please welcome our newest writer – Kevin Orris.  He brings a different perspective here as Kevin is an Atlanta Braves fan living in Chicago.  Our goal here is to bring a wide variety of viewpoints about the Mets and I am very happy to present the opinions of someone who cheers for the opposition.

When asked last week to write up an article about the Mets, many things crossed my mind.  David Wright, Willie Randolph, historic collapses, and Lenny Melnick to name a few.  The one thing that stood out though, was Omar Minaya.

Minaya is a guy who I’ve always respected because he is a General Manager in Major League Baseball.  I must say, I love the man.  It’s not because he’s done great things for the Mets, it’s because he’s done great things for every other team in the NL East.

I know that a love of Mets fans are barking for Minaya to be let go, after all, the man signed Luis Castillo to a four year deal worth $25 million.  He’s the same man that hired one of the worst managers that I’ve ever watched; Jerry Manuel.

Go ahead, tell me how stupid I am.  You haven’t lived until you’ve seen Manuel throw games away with the Chicago White Sox.  Those days are coming soon for the Mets, so watch out.  In fact, they already came; see Mets Historic Collapse 2008.

I can’t lie, I always liked Willie Randolph as a manager.  Maybe it wasn’t the moves he made, rather, it was that his teams always seemed ready to beat (and succeed in doing so) my beloved Atlanta Braves.  He was fortunate to manage great players like David Wright, Jose Reyes, and Johan Santana.

Gary Sheffield.  Do I even have to finish this paragraph on why this was one of the worst moves in baseball history?  There’s no arguing that Sheffield was once a great hitter, or the fact that he doesn’t have the best clubhouse rep.  He’s like a slower Moises Alou, however, he’s trying to reach a milestone.

I’m full of excitement for the Mets to play the Braves this year when I get to see Ole Gary chasing balls all over the outfield.  Minaya might as well have signed Barry Bonds, because as far as I see it.  I’m not embarrassed to admit that I still own a Gary Sheffield Atlanta Braves bobble head doll.  After all, he was actually good then.

Don’t even get me started on the fantastic bullpen’s that Minaya has assembled, and destructed.  I never knew much about Joe Smith as at Met, but boy do I ever now.  After watching his two-seamer in action the other day against the Kansas City Royals, I knew I had to write about it.  Sure, he brought in K-Rod and J.J. Putz, but if any GM had money to throw around they would have done the same thing.

He’s the same guy that signed Tim Redding, for the sole purpose of him facing the Philadelphia Phillies because he has a good track record against them.  I pray every night that Redding will get the chance to start against the Braves, because boy did we have fun against him last year.  As far as Livan Hernandez goes, if you really want a 5+ ERA and 200 innings, then go for it.

I’m not too confident that Minaya ever got the memo that they play baseball in the month of September.  It would be too easy for me to inform you of the Mets playoff record in the past two years, because it doesn’t even exist.

To be brutally honest, the best move that the man has ever made was letting Chris Woodward go.  I’m being honest this time.

As you’ve figured out by now, I love Omar and I really do hope that he continues his same antics now that he’s got an extension.  I want to thank all of the Mets fans who have supported him, because in the end, I’m confident that he’s working for the other NL East teams.

