Two players, a manager and an executive are the newest Mets enshrined

The Met fan has spoken and the Mets organization has finally listened.  For the first time since 2002 when 1969 World Series hero Tommie Agee was inducted, the Mets will induct four new members into their Hall of Fame.  The four newest members are all heroes from the Mets 1986 World Championship Season, manager Davey Johnson, General Manager Frank Cashen, outfielder Darryl Strawberry and pitcher Dwight Gooden.

Davey Johnson not only led the Mets to the 86 Championship, he also led them to a franchise best 108 regular season victories.  Davey Johnson also set the tone for the 1986 season by declaring in spring training that he did not just want the Mets to win the 86 Eastern division but that he wanted them to dominate.  That is exactly what they did winning the division by 21.5 games.  Johnson took over as manager in 1984 and immediately led them to their first winning season since 1976. He would manage the Mets for six plus season and is the Mets all-time leader with 595 victories as manager.  He also guided the Mets to the 1988 Eastern Division Championship.

Frank Cashen, who built championship teams with the Baltimore Orioles, took over as General Manager in 1980 and was the architect of the 1986 Championship team.  When Cashen took over the Mets in 1980 they were in the midst of their fourth consecutive losing season.  By 1984 they were one of the top teams in the National League.  Through a series of shrewd trades Cashen acquired Keith Hernandez, Gary Carter, Ron Darling, Sid Fernandez and Bob Ojeda, all integral parts of the 86 team.  He also drafted Darryl Strawberry and Dwight Gooden.  Frank Cashen was the General Manager of the Mets through the 1991 season and oversaw the most successful decade in Mets history.

Darryl Strawberry was the number one overall selection in the 1980 Major League Baseball amateur draft.  He made his Mets debut in 1983 and was named the National League Rookie of the Year.  He is the Mets all-time leader in home runs (252) and runs batted in (733).  Strawberry was also a seven time all-star while with the Mets.  Strawberry left the Mets following the 1990 season to sign as a free agent with the Los Angeles Dodgers.  Though he would go onto have some success after leaving the Mets, especially with the cross town rival Yankees, Strawberry would be plagued by drug and alcohol addiction which derailed is once promising career.  Strawberry is currently clean and sober and is a goodwill ambassador for the Mets.  He recently said, “Leaving the Mets was the biggest mistake of his career.”

The final member of the class of 2010 is Dwight Gooden.  Gooden burst on to the scene as a 19 year old rookie winning the National League Rookie of the Year award and setting the Major League record for most strikeouts by a pitcher with 276.  He followed up his rookie season with a Cy Young Award in 1985 with one of the most dominating pitching performances in baseball history.  He finished the season winning 24 games while losing just 4.  He also posted a 1.53 earned run average, which is the still the Mets franchise record for a season.  Dwight Gooden would pitch 11 seasons for the Mets winning 157 games, second only to Tom Seaver in franchise history.  Like Strawberry Gooden battled drug and alcohol abuse during his career and left on unfriendly terms following the 1995 season, a season he was forced to sit out after being suspended by Major League Baseball.  Gooden did go on to have some success after leaving the Mets especially with the Yankees, for whom he threw a no-hitter for in 1996.  Gooden recently said, “I have always been a Met at heart.”  He is being welcomed back to the Mets family with his induction to the Mets Hall of Fame.

All four members will be inducted on August 1, 2010 before the Mets game against the Arizona Diamondbacks.